Not daring to be silent

May 13, 2017 at 12:18 pm 1 comment


silence-in-the-face-of-evil-is-itself-evil-god-6887308

LIFE ALONG THE WAY:

Well … this was unexpected

I thought I was done with this blog. Quilting slowed to a crawl as other things took precedence: knitting (projects for another post), a bit of garment sewing and baking for church and our own (over)consumption.  I kept telling myself that everything has a season, and the season for Bible Block Quilts had passed.

Then….

  • A pastor friend interjected in the middle of a Facebook  discussion about journalists’ adversarial relationship with the current US executive branch:
    • **is a leftist jerk. The worst reporter on the Clinton News Network.
  • The national leader of the denomination in which I hold lay minister credentials wrote a letter on behalf of the denomination arguing vehemently against a recent Bill before Canadian Parliament that made it illegal to say hateful things about Muslims.
  • I was chastised by a representative of my denomination for reacting to an email  sharing a putative “news report” that was neither news nor a report but was actually a hate-filled rant that made me physically ill at its sheer nastiness. Apparently my response (…don’t EVER send me anything like this again!)  wasn’t polite or tactful. “You can catch more flies with honey, Kim.”

So here I am. Back again.  If there’s anyone out there still reading this, be prepared: there will be precious little quilting, much less baking and sharing recipes.

I’m not likely to be posting sweet spiritual messages to accompany pretty patchwork. I’m not interested in catching flies (with honey or anything else). I am determined to proclaim truth, to speak out against the evil that has overtaken my precious church.

Some who claim Jesus would approve of xenophobic hatred point to his wrath overturning the tables in the temple (Matthew 21:12). I respectfully ask you to remember that it was those who claimed to worship His Father that incurred His anger, not followers of another religion.

You who profess to be followers of Christ yet twist the gospel to justify hatred ARE the moneychangers in God’s house today: you have sold your calling in exchange  for political coin.

This is not the Grace into which I fell when my soul was broken and mended. This is not my gospel. This is not my Jesus.

I will not be silent.


Comments on these posts are moderated: I will not tolerate personal attacks nor will I countenance incivility. You are welcome to disagree; you are not welcome to disrespect.
Entry filed under: Life along the way.

Sunday Morning Coffee +Thanksgiving Leftovers 2FER #2: CRANBERRIES Precious Snowflakes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Norm Bumstead  |  May 15, 2017 at 7:15 am

    Help one person at a time, and always start with the person nearest to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

May 2017
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


