Life Along the Way: CURSES!

May 23, 2013 at 4:21 pm 1 comment


james and me

photo by Fred Barton

My mother was big on cursing.

Not the foul language kind [she was too ladylike for that!]  Tall, slender, athletic, auburn-haired former fashion model: nothing prepared her for parenting a short, opinionated, klutzy, argumentative bookworm. Faced with a daughter who was an alien in her household, poor Mom resorted to wishing dire consequences whereby I would grow up to understand exactly how awful it was for her to be my mom.

The most common curse:

  • I hope you have a kid just like you! 

Funny thing about word curses: sometimes they come true. And, sometimes they become the greatest blessings in our lives.

When he was an opinionated, klutzy, argumentative teenager, James and I  spent many a happy hour nose-to-nose yelling at one another. Even then, I knew I was blessed.

As an adult (especially as an adult adoptee),  when I look into his eyes and see my eyes looking back, I am blessed.

When he sends me a text from work with something sad,  funny or weird to share; or when we exchange books, recipes,  [and, I admit – sarcastic comments], I am blessed.

When he makes me laugh like no one else can, (even though everyone  is rolling their eyes),  I am so blessed.

My mom usually followed her curse with a prophesy:

  • Someday you’ll thank me.

So,  here it is, Mom:

Thanks for the curse Blessing!

Kim

On Kim’s Design Wall this week: a new baby quilt project in blues, greens and white. Stay tuned for more.

Entry filed under: Life along the way. Tags: , , .

Sunday Morning Coffee: SWEET or SAVOURY SCONES Sunday Morning Coffee: BANANA SNACKING CAKE

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. francisguenette  |  May 23, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    Ahhhhh – brought tears to my eyes. These sons can really do us in at times, but I know what you mean about being able to share a sarcastic comment or quick witted remark. We are blessed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


