Teddy Grahams!

January 28, 2013 at 7:53 pm 4 comments


ImageYay! Last post, I shared an EQ sketch for the Teddy Bear quilt I’ve been making for our grandson due in February.

The amazing Quilter’s Cache was the starting point for this pattern, but Marcia Hahn’s oversized original was way bigger than I wanted. I redrafted it, changed the piecing method, simplified the block somewhat and added 3-D bowties for 8×9″ blocks.  After much debate and discussion with my quilting friends,  the final version is a bit simplified with quilted bear outlines replacing the patchwork in the block corners. For my version, the stars are part of pieced sashing strips.

Our grandkids drag their quilts around, use them in the car and at pre-school, so I added inked eyes and mouths instead of embroidery, recognizing that stitching wouldn’t stand up to hard loving.

I had so much fun choosing the browns and blues for this quilt and seeing each bear develop its personality as I completed him. I’m thinking of working this up a class and pattern for intermediate quilters, perhaps with a companion “girly” version with pink and purple hearts and bows instead of the stars. What do you think?

LIVING INTENTIONALLY month-end check in

As well as the quilt [entirely from stash!], I’ve finished and gifted a hooded baby sweater this month. Check out the great, easy pattern here! I’m 2/3 of the way through another one for our grandson. Pinterest and Facebook still occasionally suck me into the vortex, but I’m already seeing the first results of living life Intentionally.

God Bless

Kim

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood, Kim's Design Wall, Patterns. Tags: , , , , .

Road to 2013 is paved with… Free Pattern: BASIC BEAR

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


