Road to 2013 is paved with…

January 14, 2013 at 12:53 pm 3 comments


Intentional living includes working on this quilt for my Grandson due in February: I'm stitching prayers into each little brown bear.

2013 will include a new Grandson for us: I’m working on an adaptation of this quilt for him; praying for him and for his family as I sew.

Over on One Word, folks are sharing their “word” for 2013: their one-word challenge from the Spirit for the coming year. It’s an interesting idea, and the responses from readers are inspiring: I’m looking forward to checking back in through the year to see how they’re doing.

A quick scroll through the replies reveals two things:

  1. they all choose exciting, heart-expanding words
  2. they’re all really young [at least from my perspective at 50-cough].

I wanted to choose a word that fit #1. I really did! I almost convinced myself that my word from God is “Grace.” It’s a good word, it’s an exciting, challenging word. It’s a word to describe how I move forward, minding my judgmental attitude and my sharp tongue. BUT, it’s not really my word for this year, because I don’t fit #2.

You see, in my secret heart-of-hearts, I know that I’m not in an “expanding” phase of life. I’m in a  narrowing down, a focusing part of the journey. Don’t get me wrong: Grace needs to be in everything I do, but it’s the fuel for the engine that the Spirit tells me to fine-tune this year. The road I’m navigating will have some steep hills and sharp curves, because God is leading me deeper into exploring His Word and living it as a “Woman of the Book.” So, my one Word  isn’t noble, or theological: it’s just plain HARD:

INTENTIONAL

Yup….that’s it.

Now that we’re officially retired, living is no longer just the narrow space left between kids, work, and church. Without schedules and predetermined responsibilities, it’s easy to fritter away what’s left of a lifetime: TV, books, computer games [dang you, level 59 of “Candy Crush!”] To be honest, there have been times when I find myself vacuuming at 10 pm, just so I can say “I accomplished something today!”

It’s not about a chore list, or even about good activities versus time-wasters. It’s about setting out on each day’s journey, asking “what do I intend to do with this gift of 24 hours?”  It’s guarding my time, my actions, and most of all, my words so that I may be fueled by Grace. [Engage brain before opening mouth!] At year’s end, I want to say “Yes, I INTENDED to do that!”

We’re two weeks into 2013, and I’ve made changes to support living intentionally: the laptop is put away after each use;  I’m back to shopping lists instead of aimlessly wandering the store aisles; and I’m reading and reflecting on one Bible passage each day between now and Palm Sunday [more about that another time]. Small steps, but moving in the God-ward direction. I don’t know where the road will lead, but I do know how He wants me to travel:

He has shown you, O [wo]man, what is good;
And what does the Lord require of you?
But to do justly,
To love mercy,
And to walk humbly with your God. [Micah 6:8]

What’s the one word that the Spirit is giving you this year?

God bless

Kim

PS I discovered this challenge through Sarah Bessey’s funny, insightful comments about her word for last year: “Fearless”.

PS2: Flo is back home at LaRosa, tired from all the excitement, but full of stories and memories of being loved and celebrated by her Edmonton family. I still want to grow up to be her.

Entry filed under: Life along the way. Tags: , , , , .

Going with the Flo Teddy Grahams!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca Tellez  |  January 14, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    Kim, I love your word for this year and all that you had to say in your post, especially about what to do with the 24 hour gift. I had never thought of it like that, but that is exactly what our day is, a gift from the Giver of life. I have so many areas of my life that I need to work on, including being in His Word intentionally. In reflecting and asking Him for guidance, my word is “discipline” because all the things I need to change depend on me learning to be disciplined. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I love the new quilt you are working on. Congratulations on your new grandson to be.

    Reply
    • 2. wordinpatchwork  |  January 14, 2013 at 2:25 pm

      Great word. It sounds like your “discipline” is closely related to another word from the same root: Disciple. I’ll pray for you; please pray for me that we will both be more DISCIPLINEd Disciples of the One whose INTENTION for us to be in a closer relationship with Him!

      Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  January 14, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    I would add that Discipline and Discipleship are Hard. I would say my word is Diet. Not just a food diet. I think it fits in with the how we handle the 24 hours God gives us each day. I may need to put myself on a diet of God’s word (no restrictions), a diet from the computer (less frivious time spent on it), etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


