Free Tutorial and Pattern: Temple Court

November 9, 2012 at 2:00 pm 1 comment


TEMPLE COURT PHOTO TUTORIAL

When I do trunk shows, I explain that the temple court block illustrates the Old Testament temple with its many different courts all leading to the  Holy of Holies. At Christ’s death, the thick curtain that kept ordinary people at a distance was torn from top to bottom: in that moment, every believer becomes a member of the holy priesthood, able to approach the Throne of God for himself! (see Matthew 27:51)

I’m really excited about this quilt: to my mind, the rich colours glowing against a dark background point to the opulence of Solomon’s Temple with its  precious metals and jewels. This is a controlled scrappy quilt: each block is different, although the gorgeous floral border print remains the focus in all 12.

If you use EQ7 and would like to explore your own versions of this wonderful pattern, drop me a line. I’m happy to share my EQ files with you, but please do remember to “give credit where credit is due.”

Cutting directions are  in a PDF for you to download by clicking on this link: CUTTING DIRECTIONS.

Note that I chose to piece the centre patch Stack ‘n Whack style.

  • If you want a similar look from your print, cut 8 identical 2 5/8″ squares [F and G in the in cutting directions diagram.]
  • Four of the squares are sewn together 4-patch style to make the centre  F patch.
  • (HINT: If Stack ‘n Whack is new to you, here’s a video demonstration of Bethany Reynold’s popular technique.)

A little daunted by partial seams? There’s a simplified version of this block in The Word in Patchwork

The photo-tutorial follows. Click on the thumbnail photos for full size pictures and navigate through the lesson using the arrows on the pictures.


 I hope you enoy making your own Temple Court blocks. Please take a moment to drop me a line if you have comments or questions. I do love to hear from you!

I’ll post a photo of my completed Temple Court top in the next few weeks [baby gifts to make first!] and I’ll tell you about a special Aunt who inspired this colour palette, too.

In the meantime, God Bless!

Kim

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood, Kim's Design Wall, Patterns, Quilt lessons. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Church? I’ll show you mine if you show me yours!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Guilitta  |  November 11, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Thank you very much for sharimg this Tutorial and for all the work you did. I like the pattern.

    Greeting Guilitta from Germany

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


