Temple Court: Looking at Both Sides of the Question

October 5, 2012 at 2:10 pm Leave a comment


“You pay for both sides of the fabric”, so choose which one works!

I’m determined to reduce the FABLE [Fabric Acquired Beyond Life Expectancy] in my sewing room cupboards, so I’ve been relying on stash for my Temple Court blocks. I wanted to add in some olives and some darker golds to offset the red and green and keep this from reading “Christmas.” But, although my cupboard has lots of both colours, the exact shades I wanted proved elusive.

I had a strip of olive left from a quilt backing that was the right shade, but the ditzy little leaf print didn’t play nicely with the batiks and tone-on-tones. Flipping the fabric over so that the print is “mushier” solved that problem, while still giving me the shade I want.

I used a similar trick to find the right gold. The closest I could find was too harsh and bullying next to the other fabrics, but the reverse of that same print is a little lighter with light patches instead of the strong gold with brown blotches. Perfect!

Here’s one finished block using both “reversed” fabrics. It’s hard to get true colour in my inexpert photography, but you can just see the original tones of the darker gold under the block.

All twelve of my Temple Court blocks are finished, ready for the dogears and threads to be trimmed prior to assembling with black setting triangles. My plan calls for 3 rows of 4 blocks each separated by bands of the focus fabric. I’m not sure which fabric I’ll use to frame the strips: probably either the gold or a lighter golden yellow.

I’m really pleased with the way this is turning out. Stay tuned for more and for the tutorial I hope to have ready in the next few days.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian friends: I trust, like me, you have many reasons to praise the Creator this year.

All the blocks for Temple Court

I am grateful for each one of you who reads my blog and takes a moment to send a note of encouragement. God Bless!

Kim

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood, Kim's Design Wall, Quilt lessons. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Kim’s Design Wall: PRESSING MATTERS Now for something completely different….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2012
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


