Kim’s Design Wall: Rebuilding the Temple

September 20, 2012 at 8:44 pm 6 comments


TEMPLE COURT

I love the Temple Court pattern: deceptively simple, changes in value and fabric placement drastically change the way this block appears. For The Word in Patchwork, I simplified the block by adding a couple of lines to turn the centre into a square-on-point surrounded by flying geese units. This allowed newer patchworkers to learn simple, accurate techniques for creating flying geese and squares-in-squares, matching points, and constructing blocks by building units then combining them.

But, for this gorgeous floral border stripe, I needed to go back to the traditional version of  Temple Court. I chose to substitute a  “stack-and-whack” style four-patch for a kaleidoscope effect in the centre, while the stripe portion of my print is cut carefully for the rectangles.

Construction of these blocks has proven challenging. My original plan to use set in seams was better in theory than in practice: the various units went together smoothly, but, even with y seaming, I found myself ripping and resewing so often I was afraid the fabric would be in shreds. Achieving crisp points while maintaining straight seams along the striped units was difficult, to say the least. Eventually, I decided that close is good enough.

Clearly, if I was going to make a dozen of these blocks, I’d have to reconsider my technique. Once again, a tilt of the head gave me the solution. This method would require a different tool from the patchwork toolbox: partial seaming.

TaDa! In less than half the time I spent fiddling with the set-in version, the partial seam version went together smoothly and easily.  I expect to finish all the blocks by the end of the month. Stay tuned to see the rest!

 

Here are the first three blocks for this quilt, together with the border stripe. I’m thinking about a diagonal set with the border print between strips of blocks.

A simpler version of this block is included in The Word in Patchwork available to purchase from Quilter’s Neighbourhood. If  you’d like instructions for our partial-seam version [maybe you have your own drop-dead-gorgeous border print], add a note below. If enough people ask for it, I’ll post a tutorial and PDF with the Electric Quilt rotary cutting instructions.

God bless

Kim

 

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood, Kim's Design Wall, Quilt lessons, The Word in Patchwork. Tags: , , , , , .

Sunday Morning: Potato Bread Kim’s Design Wall: PRESSING MATTERS

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca Tellez  |  September 21, 2012 at 6:41 am

    Kim, this block is breathtaking. It looks like a temple wall. I would love to have the directions for the partial seams. I am doing 60 blocks of y-seams and going crazy. Thank you for all you do for the quilting community and for Him.

    Reply
  • 2. Guilitta  |  September 21, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Hello Kim,

    Your new pattern is beautiful. I would like to see a tutirial in a pdf .
    I hope you understand my bad english.

    Greeting Guilitta from Germany

    Reply
  • 3. Louise  |  September 22, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    That is so clever of you to figure out the partial seaming. It’s a beautiful block.

    Reply
  • 4. Eleanor Seltzer  |  September 23, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Hi Kim, Yes, a PDF tutorial would be great. I do not have EQ, but would be willing to try cutting instructions. Thanks. Really nice block

    Reply
    • 5. wordinpatchwork  |  September 23, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      I should have been clearer: the cutting instructions will be a PDF generated from EQ. You will not need the program to view them: Electric Quilt generates rotary cutting sizes and diagrams for designers [a blessing for my decidedly rusty geometry skills!] I’m working on putting together a tutorial: photos are mostly done. I just need to do the text! Look for this next week-ish.

      Reply
  • […] quite a struggle pressing seams for this block. While the partial-seam technique I mentioned in my last post works like a charm, the final assembly for these blocks hasn’t gone smoothly, to say the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


