Kim’s [Virtual] Design Wall: BLOCK MORPH

August 15, 2012 at 10:27 am Leave a comment


Coxey's Camp      

Coxey’s Camp from EQ Blockbase morphs into

Electric Quilt 7 -known to quilters as EQ7 – is a quilt design program that allows quilters to choose from a library of traditional blocks and preview quilt layouts in different fabrics and sizes. Once you start playing with the settings, you quickly learn to manipulate the blocks by adding lines, changing values or combining different blocks for unique designs. It can be quite addictive: many of us have hundreds of “I want to make that someday” quilt designs stored in our EQ project files. No real fabric is harmed in the making of these virtual quilts!

Recently, over on RCTQ’s Facebook page, I issued an invitation to play BLOCK MORPH. Here are the “rules”:

  • I’ll post a sketch from EQ7
  • you change one thing (add a line, change a colour, add a border, divide a patch etc.)
  • one thing could mean a change that applies to all similar patches in the block (eg make all corner squares into 2-colour units)
  • Post your change. If you have EQ, you can post your sketch. If you don’t have EQ, do a drawing and photograph it or tell me what you want and I’ll make the change and post a drawing.
  • If you have EQ, I’ll send you the project file I’m starting with and you can update it along with me.

I only had one member step up to the challenge [Sheila’s Morph is #1], so I decided to play solitaire. Here’s what I came up with.

Sometime in the next few days, I’ll add to the Block Morphology by posting sketches of quilts made from combinations of morphed blocks: wonderful secondary patterns result from combining a couple of different version.

In the meantime, if you want to play along, add a comment below and I’ll send you the EQ7 project file. If you don’t have EQ, just tell me the specific ONE change you would make to the original or any of the morphed blocks and I’ll try to capture your idea in EQ.

I’ll type at you soon!

Kim

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood, Kim's Design Wall, Patterns, Quilt lessons. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sunday morning coffee: Lemon Ginger Cake [aka Martha meets the Kitchen Philistine] I interrupt this blog for a RAK…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


