Sunday Morning Coffee: Raspberry Slice

July 21, 2012 at 8:43 pm Leave a comment


 

This fabulous recipe came from Cathy over at Noble Pig.  I doubled her ingredients and made two 9″ square pans instead of one round: one pan was cut into 9 pieces and served warm with raspberry/mango sorbet for dessert at dinner tonight; the other will be cut into 24 or so pieces for coffee time at church. Either way, this is a real hit. Stop by Noble Pig for the original: I adapt the recipe by substituting plain lactose free yoghurt for the sour cream,   and used almond milk in the frosting.

I used to browse my extensive collection of recipe books and clippings when it came time to make a company dinner or goodies for church. Today I realized that I haven’t opened a cookbook in weeks, and the clippings I use most often are printouts from websites or blogs. While I was shopping and prepping for a family barbecue, I relied entirely on my little Galaxy tab for recipes, and for tracking groceries. With the advent of Pinterest, I don’t even print copies of favourite recipes, I just “pin” anything I think I might want to make, knowing I can access my cooking pinboard at any time. In addition to the raspberry slice, I used these recipes for my family barbecue:

  • 1-hour Hamburger buns – these are fabulous! I made 10 buns and then used the rest of the dough to make a small loaf for communion for tomorrow morning [minus the sesame seeds.]
  • Knorr Spinach dip – I used fat free Miracle Whip and more lactose free yoghurt instead of sour cream. I had a loaf of homemade sourdough bread I cut into cubes and served the dip with those, zucchini sticks and Popchips.  There’s some left for a relatively guilt-free snack for lunch tomorrow.

Add green salad, roasted new potato salad, corn on the cob and home made hamburger patties done on the barbecue. Simple, relatively healthy: and all available at the push of a button on the Tab. Wow! I’ve been around long enough to have seen a whole lot of change in the way I do everyday things: real life is starting to look a lot like the Jetsons!

Now that I think of it….30 years ago, when I was a young bride, I never could have imagined sharing my Sunday morning recipes with you!

God bless!

Kim

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

How NOT to quilt! Breaking all the rules

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


