Sunday Morning Coffee: Pork and Beans Bread – say what?!

June 23, 2012 at 6:02 pm 1 comment


Browsing through some recipes my daughter-in-law inherited, I came across one for rhubarb bread and, [since I love all things rhubarb] I laid claim to it. I have yet to make the rhubarb bread, but on the back of that card, Bre-Anne’s grandma had written an intriguing recipe I just had to try: Pork and Beans Bread!

I’ve since come across several variations on this, but my version is adapted from this handwritten copy attributed to ‘Jeanetta, 1989′. I reduced the sugar and oil, added a dash of nutmeg and used maple baked beans [it’s what I had on hand]. I think you could probably reduce the sugar a little further and use a couple of tablespoons of applesauce instead of 1/2 the oil and still have a great bread with a hidden protein bonus for nutrition.

My version has a lovely maple-walnut flavour with a hint of spice: next time, I’ll slice it a little thicker and serve warm with maple walnut ice cream as a hearty winter dessert. Thanks, Bre, and Jeanetta [whoever you were!] I think this one’s a keeper!

PORK AND BEANS BREAD

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease two loaf pans.

  • 1 cups raisins, soaked in 1 cup boiling water
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 14-oz. can pork and beans [I used maple flavoured baked beans instead]
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt [I left this out, since there’s already salt in the beans]
  • 1 cup chopped nuts [I used walnuts – measure after chopping]

Put beans, eggs, oil, vanilla and sugars into a food processor or blender and puree until the beans are processed. (The recipe card says to beat well, but I think you want to be sure the beans are thoroughly mushed, and that’s a lot of beating if you do it by hand!)

Stir together the flour, spices, baking powder, soda and salt if you’re using it. Make a well in the dry ingredients, and pour the bean mixture into the well. Stir just until moistened. Drain raisins and add to the mixture (mine seemed a bit dry so I kept about 1/4 cup of the raisin water and added it too.) Stir in the nuts.

Spoon into loaf pans and bake on the middle rack of the oven for 50-60 minutes, until brown and firm to the touch. Cool five minutes in the pans on a rack, then turn out to cool completely.

I’m serving one loaf sliced and buttered for Bridges at LaRosa’s coffee break; the second loaf is already wrapped in foil and in the freezer for another Sunday morning when I’m not up for baking!

On my design wall: a new Jacob’s Ladder store sample for my beginner’s quilting class at Serge and Sew. Stop by next week for photos and a tutorial!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Sunday Morning Coffee: Blueberry Scones Free Pattern: Jacob’s Ladder

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


