I’m back! [I think?]

September 25, 2009 at 2:04 pm 3 comments


My summer sewing roomwow! reading my last post, I realize how quickly the world got in the way of all things quilty this year.

After a wild spring that included a cross-country van trip with my daughter-in-law and THREE toddlers [Trinity-3; Cadence and Hannah-2], I was delighted to settle at home for a typical west coast summer with my sewing machines and paraphenalia moved to a little deck off my kitchen. Instead, we found ourselves in the hottest summer any of us remember on this coast. Even my normally cool and breezy outdoor “sewing room” was too hot for comfort, so time spent creating was mostly limited to early mornings.

So, I’m very glad to see the cooler weather return in time to finish up the class sample for a beginner’s class I’m teaching at Serge and Sew here in Nanaimo. So far, we’ve met just to pick out fabric, and I must say I’m energized by the positive attitude of my 6 “newbies!” They’re preparing to tackle everything from a dog bed to a queen size quilt in fabrics ranging from Christmas prints to glorious oranges and brown tone-on tones to funky pink daisies with chocolate accents [yummy!] I can’t wait to see how it all turns out. Photos will follow as we progress.

Jacob's Ladder for MomI LOVE teaching beginners; I love Autumn and I love being back to quilting. On my design wall: Jacob’s Ladder in rust batik on a scrumptious rust, grey, taupe floral print intended as a bed covering for my mom’s bed in the extended care facility. My beginners will be making their own Jacob’s Ladder quilts: I enjoyed sharing this modern take on a traditional block!

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood.

New Years irresolution! Called by Name

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bep  |  September 27, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Now that is a really nice quilt top. I might copy that some day.

    Reply
  • 2. Caren Bryant  |  November 13, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Kim, it is so nice to have you back. I enjoy your ability to take a quilt block and bible scripture and meld them into something so meaningful. Thank you for that. BTW, the Jacob’s Ladder in Autumn colors is beautiful. ‘Course I’m a softy when it comes to fall colors.

    Reply
  • 3. wordinpatchwork  |  February 28, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Hi Heather: there is no quilt shop in Ucluelet, but there is an active group. My friend Ellie is involved with the quilters’ group there. Drop me a line once you’re settled,and I’ll pass your name along to her. [I’ll email this to you as well.]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


