The plans of the heart belong to [wo]man

September 15, 2008 at 4:45 pm 4 comments


But the answer of the tongue is from the LORD.

I thought I had it all together. My nice, manageable schedule included time to finish up my Sampler of Psalms [see the design wall], put together a quick and easy version of Aunt Dinah, clean my house, balance the church’s books and mount a new web page for this month’s Bible block. All of which could be accomplished leaving plenty of time to prepare the message for Ucluelet’s Sunday worship and pack for three weeks away from home.

All those careful calculations fell apart with the death of my father on Labour Day weekend. Anyone who’s walked that path will know the mind-numbing list of chores that attend on the death of a parent: from cleaning out his room at Broadmead Lodge [may God richly reward all those fine and caring folks!] to planning a memorial service and notifying friends and family. Needless to say, my “quilter” life took a back seat to “daughter.”

In retrospect, it seems providential that I mounted two pages last month: Aunt Dinah and Joseph’s Coat. I’m hoping to be back from our tour early enough to have a block ready for October.

In the meantime, if you’re all caught up with the Bible Blocks, here’s a “sneak peek” at the In the Beginning …God quilt I’ve been planning. If you’d like to make a similar [90″ square] quilt, make:

4 each –12 inch blocks:

  • Garden of Eden
  • Brothers
  • Doves in the Window
  • Steps to the Altar
  • Jacob’s Ladder [note that our sketch has Steps and ladder in a contrasting background fabric]

4 each– 6-inch Blocks

  • Aunt Dinah
  • Sarah’s Choice
  • PLUS 56 six-inch segments from Night and Day [for the outer border] Take a look at the colouration: the corners are different from the other blocks.

There’s enough there to keep you busy for this month and beyond while Gaye and I are gallivanting around Western Canada. Next month, I’ll post directions for assembly.

Next post: I hope to check in while we’re on the road with photos from our tour. Stay tuned!

“I know the plans I have for you” says the Lord. [in Jeremiah].

God bless:

KIM

Entry filed under: Kim's Design Wall.

Panicking? Who me? Patchwork & Song: Ukee style!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie P.  |  September 16, 2008 at 5:04 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your father. My sister-in-law’s husband died on Labor day a year ago. I pray God will help you through all the things that you need to do. I will pray for you mom too.

    Reply
  • 2. Phyllis W  |  September 17, 2008 at 5:49 am

    I am sorry about your father’s death. I lost my father 17 years ago this month. I will be praying for you and your family. I know how hard it is to go through this. I took care of my mother for a year before she died. Now I am in a wheelchair and my son takes care of me. I, too make Bible block quilts. Love & Prayers

    Reply
  • 3. Emily Dorman  |  October 22, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Last year 5 quilters in our church choir made the “Shepherds Light” quilt for our choir room. We have been asked to make one in more subdued colors for our Sanctuary to be used during funerals and memorial services. We had a wonderful experience with the quilt as we read and discussed the meditations as we put the quilt together.
    I am looking at the “In the beginning” quilt, and may see if our quilters want to make that one too.

    Reply
  • 4. Teresa Golden  |  January 14, 2009 at 10:45 am

    So sorry to learn of your father’s death. I lost Daddy in 1986. While it gets easier the sorrow and pain never leave. The Master will hold and comfort you when you call upon HIM for comfort.

    I love the quilt above. I notice the block in the four corners is not listed in the block in the description above. I believe it is the Joseph’s coat block. You may want to add it to the list of 12 inch blocks.

    I will see if ladies at WUMC want to make this quilt. You are so talented and so sweet to share your gifts.
    Teresa Golden

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


