We’re Famous…sort of

July 26, 2008 at 4:23 pm 5 comments


[Or…Pride goeth before a fall…again!]

August edition

Wow! I thought I’d really made my mark when the editor of a national quilt publication emailed us last spring to ask for a photo of one of our Bible Block quilts for an article in the August edition of their magazine

“I would love to include a photo of one of your Bible-based sampler quilts in the article. Would you be interested in providing a photo? If so, it would have to be a high-resolution clear photo to be printed.” Sue Harvey from Quilter’s World wrote.

How can a girl say no? Especially when Sue goes on to say nice things about the settings for our Bible Blocks in Quilter’s Neighbourhood, and assures us that “I am definitely including your Web address in my article for our readers to visit and get inspiration to make their own quilts.”

Unfortunately, there’s one big problem: the photos I use in Quilter’s Neighbourhood are lower resolution as befits a web page, and my cheap digital camera isn’t up to producing magazine quality photos.

Ah well…sometimes fame comes with a price! A brand new spiffy digital camera, twenty minutes of lessons from the kind fellow at Black’s photography, and an hour perched on the back of the sofa trying to capture a straight image, and I’ve got something I can send off.

Then the wait begins! Of course, while I’m waiting, we’re making plans for Patchwork and Song. And, of course, I tell everyone we contact that my quilt is going to be featured in an article in a major magazine this summer. “It will be a perfect tie in for quilters,” I claim proudly. “They’ll read the article, go to my site and want to see the quilts in person. What a great opportunity!”

At last, July rolls around, and I snatch up the summer edition of Quilter’s World from the newsstand. Too impatient to wait until I got home, I quickly thumb through the pages looking for my quilt and the article that will launch a brilliant new phase for Quilter’s Neighbourhood.

Hmmm….I must have missed it. Flip the pages again, more slowly…and again…and again.

Finally, I spot the “article:” 2 paragraphs tucked in on the left hand side at the bottom. There’s my expensive photo of The Word in Patchwork quilt, all right. Yup, it does say that I made the quilt.

But, the much anticipated link to my web page is buried with no perceivable connection to the photo. Even worse, it’s not a link to my site, but a link to one frame from an obsolete page! The link still works [and yes, I am thankful for small blessings!] but because it’s only a frame meant to sit inside a page, it doesn’t have any links to the rest of my website.

As I scrambled to rewrite the frame in question so it could at least link to other pages on my site and the most current Bible Block series, I reminded myself  that pride goes before a fall.

Oh well: at least I have a brand new camera out of the experience: I’ll be using it to take photos along the way as we set out for our Patchwork and Song engagements.

If you saw “my” article in Quilter’s World, please do drop me a line: maybe my friends will stop snickering at me when they mention my “claim to fame” as originator of  Quilter’s Neighbourhood as featured in a major quilt magazine! [sigh….]

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood.

Update for Patchwork and Song PG-13 Quilting?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kimberly Camou  |  July 26, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Oh, Kim, I really feel for you. You should post the image here that you sent in so the rest of us, that don’t read that magazine, can see it large and wonderful!

    Reply
  • 2. wordinpatchwork  |  July 26, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    It’s the cover quilt from `The Word in Patchwork`: you can check it out at Quilter`s Neighbourhood — the link is on the right above.

    Reply
  • 3. wordinpatchwork  |  July 26, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    And I just remembered: the middle row of this quilt is the background for the Title on this blog! –duh!

    Reply
  • 4. Kimberly Camou  |  July 28, 2008 at 9:46 am

    It’s beautiful!

    Reply
  • 5. Karen Neal  |  August 11, 2008 at 5:21 am

    I did not see the article in the July issue, but your web site is listed in the Aug issue on page 12 where there is a small insert on Bible Quilts. That is how I found you and love your website

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


