UFO Sighting: repurposed

February 26, 2008 at 10:01 pm Leave a comment


Winnie the Pooh Quilt In ProgressBaby Laura’s nursery is all decorated in a Winnie the Pooh motif [Disney version, please!] Not my favourite, but since Dad Kevin and Mom Stephanie still haven’t got their wedding quilt, I figured I’d better come up with a suitable baby quilt pronto! I found some Disney Pooh fabric at WalMart, but had no idea what to do with it.

Digging through the boxes and bins in my studio yielded a long-term UFO with dozens of half square triangles already cut and pieced. One small step for organization, one giant leap for a quilter: admitting that I’m not ever going to make that hand-appliqued baby quilt with the teddy bears peeking through a frame of triangles. The pieces have languished in a Ziplock baggie for a decade: I don’t even remember which baby I started this one for, but it’s safe to say she’s outgrown pastels and cute bears!

From UFO to work in progress: I fussy cut squares and rectangles from the novelty print, then combined them with the half-square triangles on my design wall. I remembered one reason I set this project aside: when I originally picked the fabrics, for this, I included some that were too grey. The overall affect wasn’t the bright cheery baby quilt I wanted. I added a handful of bright, clear pastels in peach, lime green and lavender from my scrap bins: I think they work beautifully to add sparkle to a somewhat dark focus print.

I’m planning to add a 3 1/2″ white border, then bind the quilt with remaining Pooh fabric. Now, I wonder what other UFOs I’ve got stashed away that just need a fresh eye and a little “repurposing” to make something special.

How ’bout you? Are you up for a challenge? What have you got tucked away because it didn’t work, or because you lost interest? Go for it! I’d love to hear what you come up with.

Entry filed under: Kim's Design Wall.

Extras for an Eye Spy quilt How Hard Can It Be?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

February 2008
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


