Extras for an Eye Spy quilt

February 22, 2008 at 2:01 am Leave a comment


Eye Spy extras

The Night and Day quilt’s in the dryer: photos will follow, but in the meantime, I thought I’d share my idea for an “eye spy” surprise.

The quilt is for little Alex, the third boy in this family. I used novelty prints for the “night” side of the block centres: two triangles of each fabric will lend themselves to “eye spy” games as Alex gets older.

For the two older boys, I made a little cloth envelope and wrote “I spy with my little eye” on the front. Then I fused scraps from the novelty prints to heavy craft interfacing, and cut them out and tucked them into the envelope.

envelope.jpgI used a half-block for the label on the back. Rather than sew it down on all sides, I faced it with a scrap of backing fabric and left one side open. The envelope with the cutouts fits nicely in the open side. About an hour’s work on my part: worth it, I think to include something for big brothers in the gift.

Entry filed under: Kim Graham's Quilter's Neighbourhood.

Quilting the quilt UFO Sighting: repurposed

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

February 2008
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


